Bullets still waiting for invitation from Cecafa


Nyasa Big Bullets Football Club Chief Administrative Officer, Albert Chigoga says they are waiting for an official invitation from the Council for East and Central Africa Football Association (CECAFA) to confirm their participation in the tournament.

Nyasa Big Bullets last season participated in the tournament where they finished as runners-up after suffering a 1-0 defeat to Uganda’s giants, Express FC in the final match.

Asked if they are willing to participate in the Eastern Regional Tournament, Chigoga said they are eager to play again in the Cecafa Kagame Cup but they will wait for the invitation as Malawi is not under Cecafa.

“We are willing to participate in the tournament. We have all that it takes to play at an elite level. As you know that Malawi is not under Cecafa, we are under Cosafa, therefore, we are waiting for an invitation from the Association that runs the Cup. Last year we went there after being invited,” said Chigoga.

Other teams that are yet to confirm their participation in the tournament are Simba SC of Tanzania, Gor Mahia of Kenya among others.

Tanzania will host the 46th edition of the prestigious CECAFA Kagame club championship this year.

The country is going to host the competition for the second successive time after having the mandate for the last edition in 2021 which was won by Express FC of Uganda.

Regional football governing body has given the hosting right to Tanzania although they are yet to confirm the actual dates the tournament will be held.

The CECAFA Kagame club championship is a regional football tournament which was founded in 1974 but had its name changed in 2002 after the President of the Republic of Rwanda, His Excellency Paul Kagame decided to sponsor it.

Tanzania’s Simba SC remains the most successful club in the history of the competition having lifted the trophy six times.

Rwandan giants APR FC have also won the tournament thrice with their last triumph being in 2010 when they beat St. George of Ethiopia 2-0 in the finals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *