2022 FDH bank Cup Nation draw procedure, as giants avoid each other in round of 32


The Football Association has released the draw procedure for 2022 FDH Cup which is expected to be held on Thursday, June 23, 2022 at Mpira Village in Blantyre from 10am. The Draw procedure shows that giants, Nyasa Big Bullets, Wanderers, Silver Strikers, Civil Service will not meet in the round of 32 of the tournament.

The draw will attract 32 tesms with 16 from Super League and the other 16 from.three regional Leagues, Southern, Central and Northern Region Football league.

The preliminary round started 21 days ago with a total of 58 regional league teams battling for the national spot.

The Southern Region had 22 teams, the Central had 18 while Northern region had 18 teams.

Four Southern Region Football League teams over the weekend booked their places in the National Phase of the 2020 Pachema FDH bank Cup.

On Friday The Boyz defeated Prescane FC 3-1 at Balaka Stadium while a Haswell Chiwaya’s lone goal earned Immigration FC a 1-0 win over Nsanje based Bangula Hammers FC.

Zomba Airbase saw off Destiny FC 2-1 at Mpira Stadium on Saturday while Nyasa Big Bullets on Sunday afternoon booted out Ntaja United 2-0.

The Southern Region Football Association has scheduled the last two fixtures for Thursday, 23rd June 2022 at Balaka Stadium as Changalume Barracks will host Prison United at noon followed by MDF Marine vs Bangwe All Stars later.

The Northern and Central Regions identified their five representatives last week.
In the North Baka City, Kadona Stars, Chintheche United, Chitipa United and Iponga FC have qualified for the last 32 while in the Central Region’s five representatives are Ngwanje FC, Kawinga FC, KB Reserves, Airborne Rangers and Extreme FC

16 Super League teams namely, Nyasa Big Bullets, Silver Strikers, Mukuru Wanderers, Civil Service, Karonga United, Moyale Barracks, TN stars, Mafco, Ekwendeni Hammers, Red Lions, Kamuzu Barracks, Bkue Eagles, Dedza Dynamos, Kamuzu Barracks, Mighty Tigers, Sable Farming, Rumphi United complete the list making it 32.

The draw will start with the round of 32 whereby the top eight Super League teams as at the end of the 2021 TNM Super League season namely: Nyasa Big Bullets, Silver Strikers, Be Forward Wanderers, Civil Service F.C, Karonga United, Moyale Barracks, T N Stars, Mafco F.C will be seeded in the sense that they will not face each other but will participate in the round.

They will be put in one put and drawn against the other 24 teams (The reaming 8 Super League teams and the 16 Regional Leagues teams) in the other pot. 

However, during the draw involving the seeded teams there will be another draw to determine the home teams in the matches while the other draw the home team will be determined by the team drawn first. After that we will continue to do the draw for the round of 16.

The draw for Quarterfinals will be done after the round of 16 while that of the Semifinals and final will be done after the Quarterfinal matches on the dates to be announced.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *